top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePhil Steventon

(FEATURED) Routes into Law

Updated: Mar 5, 2022

I was invited to take part in the 4th episode of the Routes into Law podcast and share my journey into the leg profession and community.


It was my first podcast experience as a guest rather than as a host, so it was good to see the other side of the episode and be the one interviewed instead of being the interviewer!


Routes into Law is a podcast exploring the unique journeys into the legal profession, fronted by Stefanie Smith and powered by Tiger Law UK.


Topics I discuss in this episode include:

🐯 How I came across Tiger Law

🐯 My unique and busy school and academic background

🐯 Why the hybrid LLB + LPC + CILEx QE route works for me instead of the traditional training contract route

🐯 How my neurodiverse identity, strengths and challenges make the CILEx QE route more accessible to me for the practical training

🐯 Underrated skills that are essential for young lawyers

🐯 Things for aspiring lawyers to think about on their own journeys


The route I am taking might seem unconventional to some, but it works for me and that's what's important to me. It gives me the best chance to access the best training that I can to prepare me for life as a fully qualified practitioner.


By taking this unconventional route, obstacles that would otherwise be in my way of being my real self could be removes, which allows me to train the best way I can with colleagues who accept me for my real self.


Watch the episode below:



7 views1 comment
bottom of page